Topic

Networked, multiplayer street in HTML5/JavaScript with chat. Update at bottom.

After my article linked here earlier this week about the deficiencies of HTML5 as an online game platform, it got me thinking. While I still believe (as TS did IIRC) that HTML5 was not up to snuff for doing something like Glitch, I had to see how far I could push it in a few hours last night and this morning.

This experiment touches only the ability of HTML5, CSS3 and JavaScript to create a smooth experience in the kind of side-scrolling environment that we knew and loved in Glitch. Really, I'm experimenting for my own purposes (by trade I'm a web development lead specializing right now in HTML5/CSS3 front ends that deliver a rich experience on Enterprise platforms). I'd also never created a timer-based animation system before and wondered how that would come off in JavaScript. It's very smooth on my 8GB RAM/6 core machine running linux. YMMV, obviously. I'll probably try it on my phone shortly.

It's really a work in progress for self-education, and there are lots of things not working so if it doesn't work for you... don't feel the need to tell me.

TL/DR: Unzip to your HD. Run Google Chrome. Do File->Open and find the index.html. Use the arrow keys and space bar to move around. Put your headphones on if you want to get a little misty.

unUrthed experiement here.

I probably won't take it much further than this, just because A) I've satisfied my geek curiosity about how you do this and B) I feel like someone raising a decrepit zombie just because they want to see a loved one one last time.