Topic

Indonesian street names

I wonder if some of the Glitch Game Developer Team are Indonesian because of some Indonesian words used as street names. For example, there are:

1. Subarna Spells (Ilmenskie Deeps). Subarna is a common Indonesian surname.
2. Dodol Dwells (Salatu). Dodol is Indonesian traditional food. It's like toffee but with coconut milk in it.
3. Kura Kura (Firozi). Kura-kura means turtles in Indonesian (and Firozi is kinda' coasty area!).

I dunno if it's just coincidences or not, but since I'm Indonesian myself, I found it interesting and funny. Maybe I'll found some more as I wander about XD

I'm majoring in Game Design, and I think that's a good thing if there really is Indonesian as part of the team :)

Posted 12 years ago by Leda von Orion Subscriber! | Permalink

Replies

• I like this!  I love the street names as sometimes they are as clear as day and other times I've no idea if it is just a bunch of letters or something more than that.  Thanks for pointing out the Indonesian names!
    Posted 12 years ago by Minkey Subscriber! | Permalink
  • The job applications (and other forms) in Northern California have a tick box in the nationalities list for Asia/Pacific, it's a strong influence in the area - Indonesia in particular I would assume with it's population being about 3/4 that of the USA.
    Posted 12 years ago by Benzyl Subscriber! | Permalink
  • Oooh, that's so neat! Thanks for pointing that out :)  

My husband Don told me a bit ago about this
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Indian_spices
    where there are some Glitchy goodies as well.
    Posted 12 years ago by diaveborn ♥ Subscriber! | Permalink
  • neat!  Chakra Phool is star anise!!
    Posted 12 years ago by Minkey Subscriber! | Permalink
  • I don't know about Indonesians, but I'm sure there are no Polish devs. Or else they're rude ones :P Proof: http://www.glitch.com/locations/LA9RPI1P1QA2IMQ/
    Posted 12 years ago by Cefeida Subscriber! | Permalink