Topic

Banjo music in the music?

I am just learning to play banjo (shhh, I like it, it's good enough for Kermit, it's good enough for me). I've been messing around trying to pick out the theme but I am not good enough yet. Am I correct that there is banjo in the general theme and if so, is there a tab for it?

Posted 13 years ago by Lynore Sunshine Subscriber! | Permalink

Replies

• Sounds like a banjo to me actually! but I'm only just learning mandolin and haven't got my country plucked strings figured out acoustically yet so don't take my word for it.  No idea if there's sheet music for it.  Good on you for picking up banjo!
    Posted 13 years ago by Lara Subscriber! | Permalink
  • It's a 5 string clawhammer style.  If possible, find somebody in your community that plays claw-hamme if you think you like it.  The tune is a D tuning with the capo on the second fret.  Starting with the string closest to your face, the strings are: ADADE.
    Posted 13 years ago by Danny Subscriber! | Permalink
  • @Lynore

I'm sure you're already familiar with her work, but on the off chance you're not, listen to some Sarah Jarosz. She's something of a prodigy and plays a lot of clawhammer banjo (among other things). I mostly listen to electronica of varying types, but she found a home in my music collection through sheer amazingness. Plus, she's just so incredibly likeable as a person that you have to root for her.

Here are some of my favorites:

Tell Me True (banjo)
    Mansinneedof (mandolin)
    Ireland's Green Shore (banjo) (Tim O'Brien cover)
    Song Up In Her Head (octave mandolin)
    Fischer Store Road (banjo)
    Little Song (acoustic guitar)
    Run Away (acoustic guitar)
    Come Around (octave mandolin)
    Left Home (banjo)

It's worth mentioning that she writes all of her own songs, aside from the occasional cover.
    Posted 13 years ago by Eleni Ivanova Subscriber! | Permalink
  • @Eleni - wow!
  • @Lara